Election notice brings out more Milton candidates


Published April 4, 2024 at 4:39 pm

ballot election Milton candidate

Yesterday’s announcement of the byelection to fill the vacant Ontario government riding of Milton has brought out more candidates.

The NDP and Green Party now have candidates of record, and a person who is running without any party affiliation has entered the race. As well, a candidate from the New Blue Party put his name forward.

For the NDP, Edie Strachan will be the candidate. She is a long-time Milton resident and member of the party and works on behalf of the Ontario Public Service Employees Union.

Kyle Hutton will be running for the Green Party. He has been an active member of his party since 2019 and has run for the party in the past.

The New Blue candidate is John Spina, who ran in the 2022 election. New Blue has existed since 2020 and is considered to be a socially conservative party that operates solely in Ontario.

The independent candidate is Arabella Vida. No biographical information is available on this candidate.

Already announced is Zeeshan Hamid of the Conservatives who is a former Town of Milton councillor.

For the Liberals, the candidate is Galen Naidoo Harris, who has worked in the constituency offices of elected Liberal politicians.

All will be vying for the seat left vacant by Parm Gill who has announced his intentions to run in the next federal election.

The byelection will be held on Thursday, May 2.

There are many opportunities to vote in the byelection.

  • April 3 to 26 – Submit your application to vote by mail by 6 p.m. on April 26. Apply online  or download an application.

The Provincial riding of Milton covers the entire town with approximately 79,000 people eligible to vote.









inhalton's Editorial Standards and Policies advertising