Kids will not be at school on these days in 2023-2024 in Burlington, Oakville, Milton, Halton Hills 

Published June 13, 2023 at 4:24 pm

family-walking-file

It’s official, both the public and Catholic school boards have approved calendars for the 2023-2024 school year which gives students and their families a lot of time to make plans.

For the most part, the boards have similar schedules for the next school year which makes co-ordination of activities simple.

Ontario’s Ministry of Education recently approved both calendars.

The first day of classes for 2023-2024 is Wednesday, Sept. 6, 2023.

Winter break will begin on Christmas Day, Monday, Dec. 25, 2023, with classes resuming on Monday, Jan. 8, 2024.

Spring Break will start Monday, March 11, 2024, with a return scheduled for Monday, March 18, 2024.

The official last day of instruction is Friday, June 28, 2024, but some students may finish earlier because of exams.

Holidays include:

  • Monday, Oct. 9, 2023 – Thanksgiving
  • Monday, Feb. 19, 2024 – Family Day
  • Friday, March 29, 2024 – Good Friday
  • Monday, April 1, 2024 – Easter Monday
  • Monday, May 20, 2024 – Victoria Day

Professional Activities (PA) Days:

  • Tuesday, Sept. 5, 2023 (Elementary and Secondary)
  • Friday, Oct 6, 2023 – (Elementary and Secondary)
  • Friday, Nov. 24, 2023 – (Elementary and Secondary)
  • Monday, Jan. 22, 2024 – (Elementary)
  • Friday, Feb. 2, 2024 – (Secondary – public board only)
  • Friday, Feb. 16, 2024 – (Elementary and Secondary)
  • Monday, April 22, 2024 – (Elementary and Secondary)
  • Monday, June 3, 2024 – (Elementary)
inhalton's Editorial Standards and Policies advertising