Milton Chamber names Citizen of the Year in advance of awards gala


Published September 11, 2023 at 12:53 pm

The Milton Chamber of Commerce has announced its Citizen of the Year award winner in advance of next month’s Community Awards Gala.

Marina Huissoon was named Citizen of the Year while two other award winners were also revealed, Ted Tomlin, the Joyce Hagevik Volunteer of the Year and Hedi Bowak, who will be receiving a Lifetime Achievement Award.

The formal gala is being held Oct. 25 at Rattlesnake Point Golf Club. Tickets cost $150 and can be purchased here.

Here is a list of the nominees in the other award categories.

Small Business of the Year finalists

  • Milton Youth Theatre Productions Ltd.
  • Secret Lash Club
  • Splash Mobile Aquatics

Mid-sized Business of the Year finalists

  • CIE Property Management & Consulting Inc.
  • Enable Education
  • The Dance Shoppe Ltd.

Large Business of the Year finalists

  • Gordon Food Service
  • Rockwool
  • Sargent Farms Ltd.

Not-for-profit of the Year finalists

  • The Darling Home for Kids
  • Halton Women’s Place
  • Milton Transitional Housing

Entrepreneur of the Year finalists

  • Kashda Couture
  • Pilates Difference
  • Sidekick Training

Sustainability Excellence finalists

  • DSV Air & Sea Inc.
  • Phoenix Contact
  • The Kind Matter Company
inhalton's Editorial Standards and Policies advertising