Oakville, Georgetown schools to represent Halton at world robotics championship


Published April 17, 2023 at 10:35 am

Four Halton District School Board schools qualified for the World FIRST Robotic Championship to be held in Houston, Texas, Apr. 19-22. HDSB PHOTO

High School robotic teams from Burlington, Oakville, Milton and Georgetown have qualified for the upcoming world championships.

Burlington’s M.M. Robinson (2200), Milton’s Craig Kielburger Secondary School (4992), Oakville’s Garth Webb Secondary School (5409) and Georgetown District High School (4976) have earned a spot in the World FIRST Robotic Championship to be held in Houston, Texas, Apr. 19-22.

Garth Webb and Georgetown District High School will attend the worlds and represent the Halton District School Board (HDSB).

A total of eight robotic teams from the HDSB competed at the FIRST Ontario Provincial Championship held in Hamilton on April 6-8.

Other schools participating included Burlington Aldershot High School, Burlington Central Secondary School and Oakville Trafalgar High School (with two teams).
“Many thanks are extended to all of the coaches, mentors, volunteers and sponsors that provide students with this extremely valuable opportunity that supports the development of critical STEM and technological skills such as manufacturing, electronics, programming, CAD/CAM, pneumatics, design and transferable skills such as teamwork, problem solving and communication,” says Donna Norrie, Specialist High Skills Major Lead at the Halton District School Board.

“This has been a truly amazing experience for our students.”

The HDSB teams qualified for the provincials based on their results in regional competitions held at Humber College, University of Waterloo and York University.

FIRST Robotics, established in 2001, inspires young people to be leaders and innovators in science and technology by engaging them in exciting mentor-based programs that build science, engineering and technology skills to inspire innovation and foster self-confidence, communication and leadership.

Other local results at the provincial championship included M.M. Robinson winning the Innovation in Control Award, Garth Webb winning the Excellence in Engineering Award and Aldershot winning Highest Rookie Seed Award and the Rookie All Star Award.

inhalton's Editorial Standards and Policies advertising