Oakville MP gets new job in Ottawa after major cabinet shuffle


Published July 26, 2023 at 12:31 pm

Oakville MP Anita Anand has been named the new president of the Treasury Board after Prime Minister Justin Trudeau shuffled his cabinet on Wednesday. FILE PHOTO

Oakville MP Anita Anand has a new role with the Canadian government.

In a major shakeup that ended up with two-thirds of his 38-member cabinet shuffled, Prime Minister Justin Trudeau announced Wednesday (July 26) Anand is the new president of the Treasury Board.

The local MP was the Minister of National Defence, but that portfolio will now go to Scarborough Southwest MP Bill Blair.

Replacing current minister Mona Fortier, who is out of cabinet, Anand’s new role will see her responsible for the government’s fiscal operations.

The Oakville MP’s duties will see her carrying out the management of the government through putting into use the policies and programs approved by Cabinet and through providing federal departments with the necessary resources to do their work.

Anand will be responsible for accountability and ethics, financial, personnel and administrative management, comptrollership, approving regulations and most Orders-In-Council.

The local MP was sworn in as Minister of National Defence in October of 2021, becoming only the second woman in Canadian history to take on the role after former Canadian Prime Minister Kim Campbell in the 1990s.

Anand had been leading Canada’s response to Russia’s invasion of Ukraine and was overseeing a national defence policy review that was still a work in progress.

The cabinet shuffle is a reset that the Liberal government is selling as a renewed focus on the economy and affordability, with Trudeau saying this is the right team to build a strong future.

Dominic LeBlanc is adding public safety to his portfolio, former immigration minister Sean Fraser is becoming housing minister and Marc Miller is taking on immigration.

Cabinet newcomer Arif Virani is taking on justice, replacing outgoing minister David Lametti.

Mark Holland, who was the government House leader, is taking on the health portfolio, while former health minister Jean−Yves Duclos is the new public services and procurement minister.

The other new ministers are Gary Anandasangaree, who takes over Crown−Indigenous Relations; Terry Beech, who is in a new portfolio called Citizens’ Services; Tourism Minister Soraya Martinez Ferrada; Mental Health and Addictions Minister Ya’ara Saks; Families Minister Jenna Sudds and Small Business Minister Rechie Valdez.

Only seven ministers are keeping their portfolios: Finance Minister Chrystia Freeland, Industry Minister François−Philippe Champagne, Environment Minister Steven Guilbeault, Indigenous Services Minister Patty Hajdu, Women and Gender Equality Minister Marci Ien and Foreign Affairs Minister Mélanie Joly.

  • With files from Canadian Press
INhalton's Editorial Standards and Policies advertising