‘Spirit’ of Oakville community honoured at awards presentation

Content Originally Published on:


October 29, 2021 at 5:09 pm

A number of individuals and groups were recognized for their outstanding contributions to the community Thursday evening at the Oakville Community Spirit Awards.

The special night shines the light on individuals, organizations, businesses and community groups who have demonstrated ongoing dedication and commitment to the local community through their volunteer efforts.

“Congratulations to the 2021 Community Spirit Award recipients! I continue to be inspired by our community volunteers and all that they do to help make our town more livable,” Mayor Rob Burton said. “Each of them embody the spirit of our engaged community that Oakville is famous for.

“I thank each of them for their efforts, which help us advance through adversity.”

The event, which was first held back in 2002, took place at the Oakville Centre for the Performing Arts with COVID-19 safety protocols in place.

With last year’s awards presentation cancelled due to the COVID-19 pandemic, winners of the past two years were celebrated last night.

The 2021 Community Spirit Award recipients are:

  • Sybil Rampen and Ruth Sheridan, Access Award sponsored by Access Abilities
  • Leslie Ashworth and Erin Zhang, Arts Award sponsored by the Oakville Beaver
  • The Innovators Council and Distress Centre Halton Volunteer Trainers, Group Volunteer Award sponsored by FirstOntario Credit Union
  • Angela Parsons and Mark Verlinden, Heritage Award sponsored by Sagen
  • Matthew Aslett, Linda Lightfoot and Vimla Martinez de Hoz, Individual Volunteer Award sponsored by Budds’ Chevrolet Cadillac Buick GMC
  • Margaret Andrews and Phone-a-Friend Volunteer team, Senior Award sponsored by Chartwell Waterford Retirement Residence
  • Sarah Yasini and Kusha Shirani, Youth Award sponsored by RBC Royal Bank

The special evening was emceed by Weather Network host Chris Mei and featured pre-recorded performances by Girls Nite Out comedy troupe and jazz singer Molly Johnson.

A video was played showcasing local artist Kara Bruce and how she created this year’s one-of-a-kind stone sculpture awards.

To learn more about Community Spirit Awards and this year’s recipients, visit oakville.ca.

insauga's Editorial Standards and Policies advertising