Town celebrates volunteers who make Oakville a better place to ‘live, work and play’


Published June 7, 2024 at 5:09 pm

Ontario, Oakville, community, awards, volunteers
Award recipients at the 22nd Annual Community Spirit Awards were top row, from left: Joe Berkmanns, Olamidotun Votu-Obada and Charles Yaeck. Bottom row, from left: Ruth Sheridan, Cathy Lorraway and Gweneth Arumainayagam. Missing from photo: Rachel Williams and Fatima Sultan. TOWN OF OAKVILLE PHOTO

Oakville took time Thursday night (June 6) to recognize those volunteers who represent the best of the town.

Several of Oakville’s outstanding volunteers in the community were celebrated at the 22nd Annual Community Spirit Awards held at the Queen Elizabeth Park Community and Cultural Centre.

Local artist Cathy Lorraway, who specializes in vibrant landscape paintings, designed this year’s awards. Individual winners were presented with a unique painting.

“Congratulations to the 2024 Community Spirit Award recipients and nominees,” said Oakville Mayor Rob Burton. “Thank you to our residents and groups who spend countless hours volunteering their time to make our town a better place to live, work, and play.”

The 2024 Community Spirit Award recipients are:

  • Rachel Williams – Arts, Culture and Heritage Award
  • Gweneth Arumainayagam – Climate Action Award
  • Charles Yaeck – Good Neighbour Award
  • Olamidotun Votu-Obada – Inclusion, Diversity, Equity and Accessibility Award
  • Joachim (Joe) Berkmanns & Ruth Sheridan – Inspiration Award
  • Fatima Sultan – Leadership and Innovation Award

The Oakville Community Spirit Awards are presented annually to individuals, organizations, businesses, and community groups who have demonstrated ongoing leadership, dedication, and involvement in Oakville.

Recipients were selected by a committee consisting of Council members and community leaders.

INhalton's Editorial Standards and Policies advertising